Tumbling or Running to the Finish Line

Every time I happen back upon this blog I inevitably think to myself, “where is all this time going?” I seem to come back around to find months gone by, or a year gone by, or five years gone by since the last post. In those moments it feels like it’s all slipping away, boiling away from the heat of distraction and unawareness.

I wonder how much of my life could possibly be intentional if I seem to be only remotely aware that huge chunks are flying by with a half-hearted wave and barely noticeable nod in my general direction.

The truth is, I’m getting older very fast and a race doesn’t go on forever. In this race, a day wasted moves you just as closer to the finish line as a day well-spent. I am ever tumbling or running towards the end of my life, and I can’t stop it. I don’t have to do anything in order to draw closer to it, but by God’s grace I can choose the manner in which I’ll try to reach it.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 (ESV)
24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. 25 Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. 26 So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. 27 But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.

My prayer is to go forward intentionally and purposefully. With less pizza involved.

One thought on “Tumbling or Running to the Finish Line

Leave a Reply

