Movie realizations over the past week…

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire isn’t as bad as I thought it was during my initial experience with it. True, it is riddled with things I wished they’d done differently, but I tend to enjoy it more each time I see it. On a related note, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is my favorite movie of the series. Evanna Lynch‘s as Luna Lovegood is perfectly cast.

Stranger Than Fiction is quite good. I particularly enjoy that the majority of humor isn’t so in-your-face as one might expect from the protagonist, Will Ferrell.

When I first saw The Fifth Element in the movie theater, I hated it. I don’t know why, I suspect it was the same reason I hated Eddie Vedder‘s voice the first time I heard it: too good to hear for the first time. In any case, the movie is outstanding.

As much as I was interested in seeing the Silver Surfer in 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer, I must say that the 20 or 30 minutes or so of the movie I was able to endure was a waste of life.

300 isn’t for the family, but despite the blood, gore, nudity, funky looking dudes, and bucket-loads of testosterone-induced screaming, it is certainly a beautifully entertaining film. It was a movie that, although I enjoyed it in the theater, I didn’t think I’d want to see many more times. I was wrong.

It’s a guilty pleasure, but Galaxy Quest is fun. I watch it. I like it.

For whatever reason, it took me a very long time to get around to watching The Green Mile, but I accept all that time as worth the price of admission. A truly great movie.

3 thoughts on “Movie realizations over the past week…

  1. Stranger than Fiction took me a bit to figure out as well. It wasn’t until a couple of days later that I realized how much I had enjoyed it. Also, there is no shame in liking Galaxy Quest. None, my friend.

  2. I got to see ‘Stranger than Fiction’ when it first came out, and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Very underrated.

    I agree ‘The Green Mile’ is excellent. Not quite as good as ‘The Shawshank Redemption’ (the same guy made both films…though I’m sure you already know that). As Ted Knight’s character from ‘Caddyshack’ might have said: Top Notch!!! Top notch!!!

Leave a Reply

