Of friends and enemas…

Beginning on Thursday afternoon of last week, I embarked on a journey. It was a journey on which I have never been, and a journey I will never forget. The journey? An upper GI endoscopy and a flex sigmoidoscopy. That’s right. A lighted, camera-bearing tube down the throat and another up the can.

The procedures themselves only lasted for about 25 minutes, and I was forunately in a twilight sleep for both. I remember being wheeled in and told to turn onto my side because I’d be getting sleepy. The next thing I know, I’m talking to my wife in the recovery room.

The rough part of the whole thing was the laxative for Thursday, and the two, self-administered enemas on Friday morning. I won’t go into any further detail, but I would advise neither.

4 thoughts on “Of friends and enemas…

  1. This may be akin to being elected the mouse who must run up and bite the lion on the tail, but why were you having this done?

    If the word pleasure is used in any sentence of your reply, you shall be “baleted!” summarily.

  2. Indeed. Down the throat was to check on damage from acid reflux. The other was to check on intestinal difficulties I’ve had most of my life. Decided it was time to get everything checked instead of just worrying about it. It’s the new, improved, proactive me.

  3. There’ll be at least one more story as I’m having to go back for a full colonoscopy pretty soon. Woooooo. Wooooooooooooooooo. Woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.

Leave a Reply

